A Bathroom Renovation From Beginning To End!

Yesterday, I began the renovation of my guest bathroom…It’s one of the last spaces in my home that needs a “structural facelift”…If you’ve ever been through the process, I can tell you that it isn’t fun, which is partly why I’ve been putting it off for so long…but once the end product is in place, it’s definitely worth it!

The above images were taken before Day 1 of the renovation…

For those of you who haven’t been through this process before, I thought it might help you in seeing the transformation take place and what’s involved in a bathroom renovation…so I’ve decided that over the next series of blog entries that I’ll share my renovation with you!

Day 1 of the Renovation:

The clawfoot tub was removed but will be put back once the renovation takes place…I absolutely love it and its originality…I’m just having a special finish applied to the outside of it and also having it reglazed…The sink and toilet were removed as they’re not working as well as they should…totally normal…I had the medicine cabinet removed as well as I don’t need it for this particular bathroom and I’m going to go for a very different feel…I want to turn this small bathroom into a little gem!

The demolition is the worst part of the process…It creates a complete mess with dust on everything throughout your home, but once it’s done, the worst is definitely over…I had the subway tile removed on the walls, which I’m only replacing with drywall, and today the floor tile is being removed, which will be replaced with another floor tile…

An interesting point to make after Day 1 of the Renovation is that the contractor wasn’t able to fully know and understand what was underneath the floor tile until he got in there…Because this house dates back almost 80 years, you can never be sure what’s going to be the original construction…The floor was actually built up approximately 4.5″ which means that it will have to be built up again in order to have the tile at the same level that it’s currently at…What does that mean?!  More money…but having been through this process before for myself and hundreds of times for other clients, I completely understand and am only counting the days until I have a new bathroom to use and share with all of you!  I can assure you that this transformation will be spectacular…

Stay tuned for Day 2!

About this entry