Why Would You Want A Designer?

Major retailers, such as Restoration Hardware, make it so easy for you…They bombard you with catalogs, have very user-friendly websites, and due to their resources, they’re constantly able to reinvent themselves and produce fabulous product…

Did you read what I just wrote?!  Yes, they do have fabulous product…Talk about a company that completely reinvented themselves…and yes, I do spec. their product into my projects all the time…a piece here or a piece there…it’s about coming up with combinations of pieces that seamlessly compliment each other and work well together.

In this economy, people want to make their dollar stretch as much as they possibly can…and while purchasing from a major retailer is one option, there are also wonderful deals that can be found only by a person in the business…

This is where I come in…of course, my services come at a price…but I also have access to resources that others don’t have…and I also do this every single day…I eat, sleep, and think design 24 / 7…As a result, I think I’m pretty knowledgable about what’s out there and what different options exist for clients.

The Entablature Bookcase that’s pictured above?!  Totally gorgeous, in my opinion…and in the right space, it would be the perfect piece…BUT lets look at another option…

Here’s a 19th Century French Bookcase that I came across…Not an exact match, of course, but totally gorgeous as well…The dimensions of the two pieces are almost exactly the same (the RH Bookcase is a hair taller), but here are some of the differences:

1.  The antique bookcase is $1,500.00 less than the Restoration Hardware piece.

2.  The RH Bookcase is being mass-produced, and can be ordered by anyone.

3.  The antique bookcase allows one to have something that nobody else has…it has personality and character that’s original to the piece, to the owner, and to the space in which it’s placed…

As I said earlier, don’t get me wrong…I love Restoration Hardware and use their product all the time…but I would encourage you to educate yourself, look at all of your different options, and then make a decision as to what’s the best fit for you and your space…

…and for those of you out there that are uncertain as to what someone like me would bring to the table?  That, in my opinion, is why you would want a designer…:-)

About this entry