…must be followed by a Paul Corrie Interiors “After!”

On Tuesday, I revealed another Paul Corrie Interiors “Before,” and today, I reveal the “After!”

The clients’ Master Bedroom needed to not only become a better reflection of their personalities, but it also needed to transition from the recently transformed living room…so I neutralized the walls and selected a chalky paint color (with a greenish undertone) to play off of some of the living room’s accents and began the layering process!

The room has an ivory wall-to-wall carpet so I wanted to ground the space…I selected and had installed the most gorgeous chocolate velvet window treatments to do just that!  They anchor the space with their intensity and height…

I’m always a fan of mixing old a new pieces together so I designed the upholstered headboard and then paired it with the most perfect antiques that are on either side of the bed…On one side, a French 19th Century side table…on the other, the most spectacular 18th Century Danish Oak Drop Front Desk!  Since this is a one-bedroom condominium, I thought the desk / workspace would be the perfect accompaniment to the design scheme…After all, I’ve seen a laptop being used in various locations almost every time I met with the clients on site, so this gave it a home!

I added understated details to add visual interest to the space without confusing the observer…a subtle toile on the headboard, bronze nailheads for punch (and a perfect compliment to the window treatments), different antique lamps on either side of the bed in different finishes that still effortlessly come together (yes, you can mix finishes in a space…it shows variation…as long as they go together!), and accent pillows on the bed in the most gorgeous shade and pattern of a seafoam’ish green…They add just the right touch to the space itself, but also when making your entrance into the one-bedroom condominium as they show the perfect pairing of color to the living room space.

This was one dynamic transformation…For the clients, they have a new space that seems unimaginable to them…and for me, aesthetically stunning yet totally functional with a definite PCI stamp!

Happy Thursday, Everyone!

About this entry