I Don’t Think You Can Handle This!

On Monday, I blogged about Laguna, Room & Board’s fabulous new outdoor collection!  I suggested that one consider juxtaposing the modern collection with antiques or period-type pieces to take one’s outdoor space to another level…

Back in July of 2008, I was asked by the Washington Post to participate in their “House Calls” where I transformed an outdoor patio / garden for a “client,” and the article got me thinking…Why not challenge myself again, and show you how older pieces can be paired with the above 70″ outdoor sofa in an unexpected and dramatic way!

My first find…an antique English bench (circa 1800’s) with Griffins that flank both sides of the legs of the bench…Check out the detail…I think it’s pretty incredible…

The bench has wonderful dimensions of 59″ w x 17″d x 19.5″ high…I’d actually use this bench as the sofa’s “cocktail table,” balancing out the clean lines of the sofa with something that has strong, sculptural, and textural interest.

If your space allowed for a great deal of seating, create an outdoor living room and pair the sofa with one or two of the Laguna chairs…End tables can be added for entertaining purposes and can be lighter for configuration flexibility and versatility.

Need a small seating area for dining?

My next find…an antique English iron garden table (circa 1880) in the Rococo style…I love the white paint and the exquisite detail…Imagine the table surrounded by a sea of white or bluish-purple hydrangeas…the perfect complement to the charcoal gray sofa…

I couldn’t include a gorgeous table without chairs that could hold their own, so my next find…antique garden chairs from the south of France (19th Century)…I’m always drawn to furniture with an aged surface…With these, their design is simplistic enough that they marry beautifully with the table, and the dark, worn patina grounds the table…not to mention it seamlessly brings together the darkness of the sofa…I’d actually have charcoal gray box cushions fabricated for these seats to really connect the collections together and show one cohesive design scheme…

Finally, a beautiful garden can never have too many flowers, so my final find…an antique French multi-tiered planter on casters (circa 1880)…so ornate and yet so delicate at the same time…its ability to “float” allows one to place this planter in so many different areas and also allows for height and weight to be created in this outdoor space…

I’d say this is quite the dramatic outdoor space, and I hope you’ve enjoyed my challenge to find antique pieces that marry quite seamlessly with Room & Board’s Laguna Collection…In the words of Beyonce, “I Don’t Think You Can Handle This!”  Happy Wednesday, Everyone!  🙂

About this entry