A Masterful Makeover!

Photo Credit:  William Waldron, Elle Decor March 2010

I recently received the March 2010 issue of Elle Decor magazine, and when I went through it, I came across another design that inspires!  There’s nothing I love more than to receive a new design publication and find a project that says, “Wow…this designer-client pair did it!”

Designers Nate Berkus and Anne Coyle transformed the Chicago Home of executive Oprah Winfrey producer, Ellen Rakieten, and I must say that they did a remarkable job!  Page after page, image after image…each room is layered but controlled, colorful yet restrained, and seamlessly and tirelessly executed!

I love the soft and subtle interjections of color and pattern, and the genius selection of the appropriate antiques for each space (my three favorite spaces?  the living room, dining room, and library!)…Periods and styles are perfectly paired together, which is one of my favorite design goals…to give the appearance that these pieces have been collected over a lifetime, and that they marry beautifully together!

As a designer and a reader, it’s also refreshing to hear that what really stands out for this particular client is that the space is livable.  Spaces can be gorgeous and livable…The challenge is up to the designer…In this case, mission accomplished!

Flawless, Nate Berkus and Anne Coyle…I can’t tell you how many times I’ve looked at these images since I received the magazine…This is a Masterful Makeover!

About this entry