The Future Is NOW!

Photo Credit:  Firooz Zahedi / Elle Decor, January / February 2010

I received my January / February issue of Elle Decor yesterday, and I was so moved by Margaret Russell’s “Editor’s Page” (I have to say, Margaret, I thought it was one of the best that I’ve ever read!) that I felt it was necessary to blog about it today.

There is no question that what partly motivated the direction of her letter was the very sad news that Metropolitan Home had closed.  This news was not only shocking to the design community as Met. Home has been the contemporary magazine leader for decades, but to thousands and thousands of subscribers and readers.

As a designer and a member of the industry, the letter hit home to what we’re all experiencing.  If anyone in this industry tells you that they have not been impacted, they’re lying to you.  It’s scary and unfortunate to have seen what has happened to so many individuals and businesses over the past year…With each publication folding and each business closing, it eventually impacts all of us in the design community. 

My hope is that the worst is over and that for those of us who have made it this far that even greater things will happen in 2010…so many talented and creative individuals have been greatly impacted by struggling economic times.  I’m confident, however, that we will get through this and come back with stronger energy and creativity!  As Margaret says, “don’t lose hope….the future is now.”

About this entry