Designs That Inspire

In the most recent issue of Elle Decor, Michael S. Smith (designer to the Obama’s / White House) shares a Malibu beach house with us that he designed. 

I was immediately drawn to the project when I saw a shot of the living room, which landed on the cover of the magazine.  I absolutely love this image and space because I think it delivers many of the elements that I share with clients and incorporate into my designs.

I’m most drawn to the architectural details, the eclectic mix of furnishings, and the high contrast of color…The fireplace mantel is stunning, and the moldings around the doors are so strong and definitive!  The neutral walls, window treatments, and sofas are balanced with darker elements that have been interjected in the smallest and most subtle ways…the cocktail table, the end table, the mirror above the fireplace, the well-scaled, Neoclassical armchair, and the floor lamp…Color is then introduced, but in a soft and elegant way…the traditional rug has such a gorgeous shade of blue, and I love the large blue and white vase next to the sofa…I’m also crazy about the cocktail table’s soft pink floral arrangement…light, airy, and natural!

This project is spectacular, and the images are breathtaking….this is a design that inspires!

About this entry