…and the AFTER!

lr_condo

Here’s is the “After” image from a Washington, DC condominium that I recently completed!

The “Before,” which I discussed on Tuesday, June 30th, showed overscaled, heavy furniture and window treatments that did not hold up to the architecture.

I did the following with respect to this project:

*  I went with a dark, clean-lined sofa to stay true to the architectural environment in which it existed, and I covered it in a soil and stain resistant fabric since it will probably get more use than any other upholstery piece in the space.

*  I paired it with a very clean and contemporary parsons glass-top coffee table to add function to the room, and also give the eye a feeling of “openness” in the living room.

*  The rug is 100% nylon, and exceptionally durable!

*  What the “Before” lacked was layering and texture.  Make note of the the linen-like sofa, the plush velvet pillows that rest on it, the woven leather bench behind the sofa…all paired with the client’s existing smooth, steel drum side table.

*  I added personality.  I introduced a 19th Century French Hand Carved Louis XV Fauteuil that was covered in a beautiful buttery linen…soft in appearance, and the most subtle addition of color that compliments the sun-filled walls during the day.

*  Finally, I treated these windows with the respect that they deserved, and selected roller shades in the softest ivory…The compliment the paint color, and have just the right percentage of opaqueness to allow light to come through yet still provide the client with privacy in the evenings.

This condominium now is well-scaled, full of balance and texture, and bursting with personality.  A contemporary loft with a mixture of old and new pieces that not only marry beautifully together, but they work in this particular space.  This client is amazed with the finish product, and I’m thrilled…People should be surrounded by spaces and things that they love…

About this entry